Yahoo Weather

You are here

Bruner named All League coach of the year

The votes are in and Mike Bruner was selected as the Southwest Washington 1A Evergreen Division Coach of the Year for baseball. Taking the Bulldogs to a 20-0 regular season and advancing to third in District IV play, the Bulldogs are now set to start Regional play on May 18 in Castle Rock.

Players making the list for both Montesano and Elma are listed below.

First Team: MVP – Layne Bruner, Montesano; Pitcher, Matt Jensen, Montesano; Infield, Shad Rogers and Zack Nelson, Montesano; Outfield, Elliot Mendenhall, Montesano and Todd Swinehart, Elma; Utility, Tucker Ibabao, Montesano; Second Team: Pitcher, Layne Sutten, Elma; Infield, Jesse Wolford, Elma; Outfielder, Kody Usher, Montesano; Utility, Nick Camenzind, Elma. Honorable Mentions: Montesano, Richard Smith and Nathan Nussbaum; Elma Charlie Simpson.